Essay topics: Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">The summer holiday is always precious for college students, and properly utilizing it could benefit students a lot. Currently, there is a heated debate on the arrangement of summer vacations. Some people would like to become volunteers and make a contribution to the society, I prefer to take an extra course for it can improve my interpersonal ability and give me a competitive edge during interviews.

To begin with, an extra course could help students become more sociable. Tasks are indispensable for most lectures, and some of them are cooperative. Thus, these assignments create an ideal atmosphere to talk and work closely with teammates in order to achieve the common goal. Especially when we meet a dilemma, we need to express our ideas clearly and listen to others carefully. During this progress, interpersonal skills could be sharpened and amounts of friendship could be harvested. We all know that “Friendship can multiply joy and divide sadness”. Just take my friend Oliver as a good example. We felt the differences from the outside. However, in a summer lecture, we were occasionally arranged into the same group. It was till then that we had the first conversation. At first, some small conflicts did burst out due to different backgrounds, but we learned to communicate patiently rather than disputing, as every knowledge we know was based on previous personal experience. After running in period, we realized that we actually shared so much in common. What’s more, we worked much more efficiently than before. Had I not participate that summer course, I could not master the ability of developing friendship with different people.

Besides, attending an extra course is good for interviews. This kind of lecture provides an opportunity for students to enrich their knowledge from another aspect. To be versatile is vital in the real life, as it marks learning abilities. The more you learn in the same time, the stronger skills you own. As to the companies, they are definitely willing to hire a more talented employee. For instance, my major is computer science, but I attended a business summer school so as to broaden my horizon. It was a little difficult for a novice, like me, without any common sense. It consumed me a lot of time and efforts to overcome various barriers. Consequently, every effort pays back. When I was asked to talk about the future of artificial intelligence in the interview, I claimed my point from not only a theological view but also a marketing angle. Thanks to the previous attempt, various perspectives impressed the interviewer and won me the internship. Had I not shown diverse views by participating in that summer course, I probably lost this precious internship.

Admittedly, picking up a volunteer work does produce a positive effect on the society to some extent. Nonetheless, I prefer to learn some practical skills. These skills can enhance my capability and help me make a huger contribution in the future. By now, I can only finish some extremely basic work. In contrast, if I utilize these time to explore some new fields, I might be able to engage in something big. Compared to a time-consuming volunteer, I choose to invest the future.

In all, students would benefit from a different taste of course much more than volunteering.</span><br>