The most important thing the government should do to improve health care is to clean the environment.

Have you ever gotten a cough caused by the smoggy air? Have you ever imagined the food you eat might be irrigated by the polluted river? Recently, there has been a hot discussion about whether purifying environment is the best way of human health improvement. In my opinion, a neat environment is indeed crucial significant. However, it does not mean cleaning environment is the first choice to make citizens healthier.

To begin with, we have to admit that most of the current diseases have been caused by serious environmental problems. For instance, air pollution leads to the increasing numbers of lung cancers; water contamination threatens the survival of animals and human beings. Therefore, cleaning the environment can in no case be ignored if we want to live longer and healthier. The health improvement in my hometown could be cited as a good example. It used to be an industrial city, with an extremely unfriendly environment. The sky was covered by thick smog; the rivers were dyed with colorful streams; and the soil absorbed overdosed chemical metals. Local clinics were always occupied by citizens with various diseases. However, things are quite different now since the government began to take stern measurements to recover the ecosystem. Sky, rivers, and soils are now in a quite better status, and more importantly, local people are currently enjoying a healthier life.

However, although having been convinced by the importance of cleaning the environment, I have to say it is not a wise suggestion to claim it is the most important thing the government and the society should concern when the improvement of health is taken into consideration. Simply, we have to face the truth that not all health problems could be directly associated with environmental impacts. Is insomnia caused by the inappropriate disposal of the household waste into the forests or the rivers? Does karoshi result from the heavy smog covering the city region and sheltering all the sunshine that should have been enjoyed by the busy office workers? Is the reason why more young children suffer from eye-sight loss and have to rely on thick glass the global warming together with other related problems?

Therefore, we should focus on other ways as well to become healthier. Keeping a well-balanced diet, doing some routine exercises, and visiting the medical care services regularly are all directly helpful to our individual health. Last year, Facebook initiated an online survey among the netizens, aiming at finding out the best way for personal health improvement. The result showed that nearly 90% of the respondents chose to do various exercises to keep fit, while environment improvement was not listed in the top 3. As to the reason, respondents explained that even though environment improvement would also be beneficial, other ways would be more efficient and more direct.

Above all, cleaning the environment is surely important to improve people's health level, but it is not the most significant and direct way.