Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">Some people claim that the current students are not sufficiently burdened with their academic studies, so they advise that the universities should require all the students to extend their studies to other areas, especially history, since history tells lessons and helps shape the future. Personally speaking, studying history indeed benefits students' future, yet it is not wise to require every college student to do so, for it will add extra burden to the students and might distract them from their current concentration.

Why does history matter? It does because it gives us a number of lessons that previous generations have undergone. These lessons, either cheerful or painful, could help us better deal with current or future problems. Let us take the rise and fall of the Chinese Dynasties as good examples. From history classes, we know that the first emperor of a new dynasty always carefully analyzed the major reasons that led to the extinguishment of the previous dynasty, and then would design relevant policies to prevent such problems. Thus, I suppose that the reason why we learn history is to summarize the lessons and to give hints in the future.

Have you ever been buried by the piles of the documents in the library simply because you had to write papers on seminar projects before the deadline? Have you ever rushed from the library to the classroom without a second bite of the newly purchased burger simply because your next discussion was in 5 minutes? The university life is never easy for those students, who are always facing endless papers, materials, group discussions, experiments, and quizzes. Therefore, requiring them to study additional history classes seems an impossible mission and hardly fits into their schedules. Things get worse for those students, especially for whom the history lessons bring more burdens than benefits. Some students, whose majors mostly go round the cutting-edge technologies, such as AI, Quantum Physics and Neuroscience, need to stay focus on those topics, as the basic historical understandings owned at their high school are adequate for their needs.

Therefore, I would like to suggest universities to respect the personal will of students. One way is to offer several kinds of history courses for those who are crazy about historical stories and to leave freedom for those who are less passionate but want to focus on their own subjects. An ideal situation is that university notifies the main topic of each lecture, and each student could choose to attend any one out of their interests, instead of university command, as the saying "Interest is the best teacher.".

In short, history is indeed crucial important, but universities could make it become an option instead of compulsory command.</span><br>