Essay topics: TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is impossible to see any program on the television without to be bombed with advertisements, even in the infantile sections. Whether this kind of commercial activity directed toward the kids under five should be forbidden or not, though, it is a matter of intense debate. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that commercials should be banned in those channels or hours, which the youngest of the house are enjoying of the tv. this position is based on two main reasons, that will be analyzed thoroughly below.

Firstly, kids have not the mental capacity to distinguish between the reality and the fiction in a commercial, which could end up being quite detrimental for them. With the cognitive maturity reached at the age of five or below, they do not understand the concept representation of the reality, and as a result, they assimilate any fact as a true. Example of that was the experience that I lived with my son John. one day, I realize he does not want to eat his breakfast. After a while, I finally understood that the reason was that the cereal was not the same brand that he saw on a tv commercial, where a popular cartoon said that it was the only one, with which kids could grow up healthy, strong. it cost me a lot of time convincing him that it was only a commercial strategy of sale. Therefore, if some types of materials are not allowed for children, such as violence or sexual scenes, owing to they are not prepared to understand them, why we don’t analyze commercials in the same contest?

Secondly, kids have not the financial autonomy to decide which product they desire to acquire. Consequently, that puts an extra pressure in the parents, which sometime could not afford it. it is quite common to see a child crying in a mall, because they want a toy that he saw on the tv, and the parents trying to turn his attention to another thing in order to overcome that situation. only those who are parents are able to understand the feeling of frustration of that moment, owing to they do not have enough money to satisfy the wish of his child, even when they are doing their best to support their kids. why we should allow those companies, with unscrupulous commercial practices, to have the possibility to sow necessities in our children that are not essential for them?

In summation, due to the reasons presented in this essay are why I am of the opinion that not only advertisements, but all the commercial activity should be prohibited if it is directed toward kids under five. this is because they do not have the maturity to separate the reality of the fiction, and they do not have their own financial support.