The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

A glance at people's way of forming a family brings to a light question that has several times provoked discussions, that is, whether having big gamily thesedays is more or less important than the past time. Some might contend that the whole world is filled with the individualism, so living with all the gradparents and cousins is even more crucial. However, I would like to suggst that big family matter less thesedays in terms of respect toward an individual life and high rate of migration. In the ensuing paragraph, I will try to shed some light on my perspective hrough ample examples and conspicuous reasons.

The exquisite point to be mentioned here firstly is that people are more satisfied with life with less family members living together. There is a research that shows this point of view. The federal community center of US did investigated two group of people about their emothinal stability, depending on the menbers of their family. The result showed that some of the people who lived in a conventionally big family reported an emotional harrasement, due to the fact that their relatives did not fully repect their individuality and privacy. But the other group, especially the people who live alone and sustain a fortable life with their own income, showed a greate emotional stability.

Another point here to be mentioned is that this time of era, the migration and expat life is so common that it's hard to live even with core family members like parents or siblings. My personal experence will give a good example. Right now, I live in Seoul, and my sister lives in Paris, and my mon live in the Southern part of Korea. We used to live altogether 4 years ago, but we spreaded domestically and internatinally with our own reasons and motives. Still, we get together around once in a year, and that's pretty much enough. No full time living and sharing everything together is necessary.

Although the aformentioned points corss the mind at the first glance, it does not mean that they are the only one. Actually, there is another subtle point which much be borne in mind. It should be noted that the government policies are changing in a way that they are increasing the duable housing loan for the those who live alone or with two. This never happed before 2010, because the country wanted people to get marry and reproduce as before. The change in governmental poliy demonstrates that the conventinal big family matter less than the past.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly belive that living with relatives like cousins, aunts, and uncles is less likely to happen from now on, and the emotional life and the increased migration of individual are two prime reasons.