The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past

It is undeniable that the extended family is a fundamental part of everyone's life. However, there is a crucial conflict about the importance of the family role between the past and the present. Some people think that the extended family lost its effective role.

Others might believe that their role remains the same.

In my view, I firmly confirm the former viewpoint for several reasons that I will explain In the following essay.

To begin with, the technological progress influenced our relations. In fact, we are becoming more connected to our phones and laptops. As a result, we lost the contact with our families and the warm connection with them.

From my personal experience, I remember when I was young that we frequently go to each others home and organize family meetings. We used to play together, share moments of pleasure and sometimes we spend time listen to our grandfather's adventures. Thus, those moments helped to keep the relationship strong.

This indicates that the new ways of communications have destroyed our relationships.

Another major consideration is that friends become closer than relatives since we share with them a lot of things in common. Sometimes some strangers or superficial friendships could be more helpful than a family member.

For instance, I really find myself more relaxed while talking to a friend than one of our relatives because when dealing with a friend there would be no limitations or fears. In the other hand, while talking to a relative, the conversation usually finishes with a personal judgment which is not the case with friends. Added to that, when I face financial problem I find a more warm welcome from my friends than from a relative.

This clearly depicts that family relations are less effective and we find ourselves more attached to those we meet in the life path.

In a nutshell, the extended family is no longer the essential refuge for a person.

The new advance technologies and friends are contributing more to our lives.