The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Controversy exists over whether the value of extended family between people. As far as I am concerned, the extended family is less important in comparison to the past because not only people do not have free time but also, the advancement of technology changed the lifestyle. In the following paragraphs, I will pinpoint my case.

The first reason worth mentioning is that members of a family (Father and mother) do not have leisure time and are too busy. In recent years, industrialization happened at a very fast pace and After that, the life of people changed a lot. People worked in environments such as societies in the past and had more spare time. However, in modern lives, most jobs position are related and dependant on the industry which make them very difficult with a low income. On the other hand, the daily expenses of people have been increased abnormally and because of that, people are obliged to allocate a great amount of time to work. They do not have enough free time to spend with extended family members and prefer to spend the remaining time with their own family. Hence, people have to focus a great proportion of energy on a career that enables them to supply the need of family members. For example, a person who works in a big company and does not earn a high income from his job has to get more shifts at the company or even get another part-time job to increase his earnings to an acceptable amount.

A furthur more subtle point is that the improvement of technology happened and changes people's behavior. It caused the emergence of the internet and smartphones. In the past, one of the people's habitats was to visit their grandparents. On the weekend, all family member gathers in a single location and engage in a group activity or group games. Family members talked about the event that happened during the week and the problems they faced. However, in the current situation, teenagers' habit has been changed. Instead of going out with friends or close families, they prefer to use new devices such as computers and cell-phone. One of the most used devices in recent years by teenagers is the mobile. It is more convenient for them since there is no need to go out. Moreover, a new trend has happened which is social media. Instead of visiting other family members such as cousins and grandparents, children prefer to socialize with friends on social media such as Instagram or Twitter. Besides that, the artificial intelligence of video games has been improved and made games more difficult and complex with higher quality. Children usually become addicted to this game since it is a great source of entertainment. For instance. when I was in high school, after finishing my study and assignment, instead of going to visit my uncle which loved me very much, my choice was to play games on my computer.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, the extended family does not have significance anymore due to the way people live and the development of technology.