In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think is the main cause of this phenomenon?

Technological improvements

Changes to education systems

Improvements to our diets

It is undeniable that people in our generation are living longer than previous generations. This phenomenon is due to multiple factors. According to me, one of the most important cause that account to this phenomenon is recent technological improvements. I think this way for several reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, technological improvements help in imoroving the quality of life, which in turn improve the overall health of people. For example, I remember my grand mother telling me about how much she suffered her whole life from back pain. Her pain was originally from binding toward the sink for three or four hours to wash her clothes. She has never had a washing machine when she was young. She told me about her shock when she saw a machine that help in cleaning laundries. Recently, after she bought a samsung washing machine, which is a digital one, she is no longer struggling or suffering from any pain. Her back started to heal after she stopped clothes hand washing. It might be a small technoogical improvement for some people, but for her it changed her quality of life.

Second, I think that technology compensates in overcoming dangerous diseases. It decreases in some ways the death rate of many health issues. For instance, many new techniques help in decreasing the death rate in major surgeries. Last year I had a big surgery on my back to release one of the nerves there. It was really a critical and dangerous operation. The risk of failure was almost 55%, but due to a new technology used by my surgeon, the operation succeeded. In addition to that, I am no longer complaining about any pain or discomfort from that nerve.

In conclusion, I think hat technological improvemets account to the elongation of people life. It is not only because it improve the quality of life, but it also decreases the death rate due to health problems.