Getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting from friends of your own age.

Life is full of choices and that is why people always need different advice from others. In my opinion, people usually can get valuable advice from their peers. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, the ways people of the same age think are similar. Those people can understand each other better, let alone friends. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was asking some suggestions about my future career, my father always asked me to go to the big companies without considering my ambitions and my interests since he believed that working in big companies can earn more money and have a more stable life. Although the company I wanted to go to is small, it could give me more opportunities to learn and develop. On the other hand, my best friend was willing to hear my ideas and supported me to chase my goals. Additionally, she analyzed the advantages and disadvantages of my options. Thus, people at my age, especially my friends, can actually provide the best way for me because they stand the perspective of me to think.

Moreover, people of the same age have closed points of view, and their lifestyles are similar as well. With the same educated system and technologies, people born in the same generation can give more practical suggestions. For instance, the professor of art history required his students to give him a presentation of how influential artists impact modern art, and one of my classmates presented comprehensively, he listed almost every famous artist after the renaissance. In that, the professor hoped he share it with other students, and then the professor suggested him to print it out. Another student, however, recommended him to post on the e-learning system of the university to make sure all of the students can see it, even the students who did not take the course but need a good presentation sample. Besides this, the student would not waste any paper. Therefore, people can get effective, practical advice from those who have the same background.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that getting advice from peers can help people to make the most suitable decision for their situation. This is because friends can understand, listen to me more, and my peers usually have creative and novel ideas instead of old methods.