Given a choice between learning through classroom and learning through events such as field trips, which one do you think is better for a child?

Our educational system has prioritized classroom lessons for ages. Whether be it school or university, the majority of the credits are dedicated to classroom learning. But it is difficult to overlook that children find it as a pretty dull approach. Hence, I think that learning through events such as field trips are better for a child. In what follows, I'll note down a few points to explain the reasons behind my stand.

To begin with, classroom learning tends to provide only bookish knowledge. The chance of getting practical exposure seems slim which makes children incapable of relating their lessons to real-life. Let's take an example of a history class. Most children just bear with history as it is a compulsory part of the curriculum. But when they are taken to a museum and explained about the nomads or the mummies, showing their visual depictions, it helps encourage students at large to add value to their history lessons.

Secondly, for students attending only classroom lessons, it eventually becomes monotonous. Children often tend to lose their interest in studies. For instance, instead of attending class for environmental education, it would be better if students are taken to a field and indulge them in activities like planting, garbage collection etc.. Teachers can explain the lessons at the beginning or end of each activity making the learning process more engaging.

Last but not least, it is of utmost significance for students to learn beyond their textbooks. Field trips are characterized by the capability of developing skills like teamwork and effective communication amongst students. In the long run, such skills are extremely useful as they are responsible for the overall development of individual personality. Let me talk about my personal experience of a school trip here. We were taken to the National Institute of Jute Technology. Once, we were given the demonstration on the production of various jute products, we were divided into groups. Each group was responsible for creating a unique craft with the process we learnt and had to end it up with a presentation.

To conclude, there is no denying the fact that classroom lessons are immensely necessary. Yet if they are not followed by practical exposure through events such as field trips, students fail to relate with the lessons they have obtained through their textbooks.