Do you agree/disagree that to make a subject more interesting, a teacher should teach the subject with relevance that help them outside the lives of a school?

Education is no more a necessity but a race of cut-throat competition that students are made to take part in. And while trying to cope up with such pressure, students should be able to actually enjoy their learning process and not simply study to score well in their examinations. Hence, I completely agree that to make a subject more interesting, a teacher should teach the subject with relevance that help them outside the lives of a school. In what follows, this essay will explore a few points that can help explain the reasons behind my stand.

To begin with, if students are not being able to relate to what they are being taught, they tend to lose their interest in studying the concerned subject. For example, in a search study done by the Central Board of Primary Education, students of the state preliminary schools are more aligned towards studying science-related subjects as they were followed by a display of laboratory experiments, rather than subjects related to humanities.

Secondly, when students are only exposed to the theoretical concepts, they fail to understand the reasons behind investing their time and effort in learning those lessons. Students rather prefer concentration on subjects that they solely feel could give them more edge in their professional life such as finance or science etc.. Lets's say for instance, as a child we never really understood the reason behind studying history. We knew that there's hardly any scope in the professional life concerning these subjects and hence neglected it badly. But indeed we can learn from the revolutions and the great leaders about their managing skills, their level of tolerance, both their positive and negative characteristics that can help us develop our personalities immensely.

Last but not least, when it comes to ultimately utilizing the lessons learned from school, recruiters not only look for academic knowledge; they prefer a student who has a better grip on his soft skills. So it is of utmost significance to make a subject relevant by giving group projects or making the students prepare and give out presentations etc.. For example, s study done by the Univerity of Arizona states that students who were a part of numerous group project or had undertaken a few internships had seventy per cent higher chance of getting hired at the end of their course than their other counterparts.

To conclude, giving real-life examples or taking students to field trips such as to the museum or the zoo etc. helps students realize the practical real-life potential of any subject. Once a student feels the concerned lessons are relevant enough, he is motivated to deeply understand the contents rather than just concentrating on getting a good score in the examinations.