Do you agree or disagree because economic growth is most important modern societies, we should not slow down growth by the concerns of environment, support with relevant examples.

The development of economic growth has put a lot of pressure on the earth's resources, environment, people and society at large. The damage that is already done does not seem reversible. Hence, I beg to disagree that because economic growth is most important to modern societies, we should not slow down growth by concerns of the environment. In what follows, this essay will explore a few points that can help explain the reasons behind my stand.

To begin with, the content and utilization of natural resources play a significant factor in economic growth. Once we end up depleting the majority of the resources for the sake of presently benefiting the economy and leave nothing for our future generation; they will have to survive in a world suffering from an unstable economy. For example, the extent of various mineral ores as iron or oil reserves determines a country's capability to achieve economic growth, as these are vital raw materials required by a majority of business establishments in any nation. Once these are all depleted, the businesses will have to face hurdles or have to import these raw materials at a much higher cost from other nations.

Secondly, the balance in the co-existence between humans and wildlife gets interfered when natural habitats are being cleared for the demand of open spaces for modernization. This would have an adverse effect on society when endangered species would become extinct forever. Let's take an example of the situation that arose in the area of Sundarbans when some part of the forest was cleared for agriculture. The nearby settlement was attacked by a white tiger who had lost his habitat. Not only did it injure the people around, badly enough, but also the villagers had to shoot that endangered animal to save their own lives.

Last but not least, in recent years, researches have shown how the use of alternate sources of energy can be beneficial to us, both economically and environmentally. It is just about a little time and patience that the traditional machinery can be replaced with the new ones running on alternate energy. For example, a study undertaken by the State University of Arizona showed that in areas where pumping of water and generation of electricity have had been achieved by the use of windmills, could cut down their costs on expensive filters and precipitators. In fact, the amount thus saved, was invested in the educational sector to take students to field trips.

To conclude, it is time that we seriously consider implementing sustainable development. Only in this way, we can not only save the Earth from further damage but also prevent the upcoming generation from facing an economic turmoil.