giving children money for their good grades in schools

Children's minds are so adaptable, so the decisions that parents make for them can affect their life hugely. The decision to give children money in respect to their high grades can be a crucial one because, on the one hand, it can motivate the child, and on the other hand, it can give him a wrong motivation. In my opinion, the advantages of this action can overrule its disadvantages.

To begin with, studying, like all other things we do can become a habit. If a child studies enough to make a habit out of it, there would be no more need to pay him for it anymore. Thus the giving money process can be stopped as soon as the habit is shaped. My own experience can be an illustration for this matter. When I entered school, I did not like studying math. It was hard for me to understand it, and I just did not have the motivation to start the studying process. After a few months as my grades were sinking, my parents got involved. They promised me 10 dollars in exchange for each A or B grade. Therefore, I started studying harder and harder to get as many 10 dollars as possible. After a while, I began to understand math, after that, I studied it on my own just for the love I had found for the subject.

However, the method might be helpful, some may argue that this way the child would not have the right motivations, and it might harm him in the future. Besides, nowadays we can be left alone more than ever. With the increased rate of immigration, the chances of a child being alone in his twenties are more than ever. In these conditions, If the children don't learn to be on their own and make their own motivations, it can be detrimental for them, when they do not live with their parents anymore. The ability to be spontaneous and self-made is a crucial one and to rob a child of it, meddling in his schoolwork is not fair to him. I will provide an example of my sister for illumination. My sister was the last child, so my parents paid extra attention to her including her studies and other activities. They also paid her money for her good grades and other achievements. When she entered university, she moved out of the home and my parents no longer could have her back. It was the first time in her life that she didn't have her parents to motivate her, and she had not learned the ability to motivate herself so she failed all her courses and got expelled from the university instantaneously.

In sum, giving children money for their achievements like getting a good grade, can have both its benefits and its harms. Even though it can make a good habit for a child and motivate him, it can also backfire, and rob the child of being self-sufficient. To draw a conclusion, we should be aware and careful when doing it so we can have the benefits, and avoid the harms.