Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are now

Teaching is one of the most important jobs in society. Because children's minds are extremely adaptable to what is shown to them, so the role of a teacher and his behavior can greatly influence the way those children's minds are shaped, and later on the quality of their lives. In my opinion, we have lost sight of this important matter in this modern age, and do not respect the teachers the way they deserve to. I will explore my reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, in recent decades, teacher's salaries have decreased in comparison to other occupations. Thus, less educated people would enter this profession, and the respect they have among people would decrease even more than it is now. This vicious cycle has been going on for a while now, and its only outcome has been, more unsophisticated educators and less respect for the profession as a whole. I will elaborate on this reason by providing an example. My aunt used to teach in a high school. She was getting paid the minimum wage. Thereby, after she gave birth to her first child, and witnessed that little money could not cut it for her anymore, she quit her job and became a chef. So the educating system lost one of her sophisticated educators.

Secondly, as I know from the ancient books in my culture, educating used to be the most important job in my society. There used to be some special educators called Sheikhs, whom we greatly respected among people. Normal people gave their small children to the Sheikhs to teach them for several years, in this time it was common for the parents not to visit their children at all. So we see the magnitude of trust between people and Sheikhs. The children also respected their Sheikhs greatly, the relation between them was beyond professional. If a Sheikh asked a kid to don't sleep for several days or not to eat for a week, the kid would completely obey him. All of the mentioned details show the power and the respect educators of that time used to have.

In conclusion, I believe nowadays teachers are not respected, as much as they use to be, and this is a bad thing. With the current situation, we will have worse teachers every they, and the quality of education will decline. We should address this problem by raising the teacher salaries, so maybe in time, the respect would come back to our educators.