The government should support research even if it has no practical use?

In the modern era, the role of government in society, the scope of its functions and the legitimacy of its decisions have been constantly disputable among academicians and officials. Some commentators strongly concur with the idea that government should support scientific researches notwithstanding their being practical, while others contradict this point of view by suggesting other methods of investment in the realm of scientific researches. I am personally inclined toward the second point of view and I will elaborate on my opinion by the following conspicuous paragraphs.

First and foremost, the more governments allocate their financial resources to practical research projects, the better and more reliable feedbacks they will receive from their societies. The results of a recent study conducted by the Harvard Law School in the field of law and economics in 2014 demonstrates that there is a positive correlation between conducting practical research and the economic growth in any society. According to this study, the countries which have invested in performing scientific researches by applying a more pragmatic method, have gained a higher percentage of Gross National Product (GNP) which is regarded a key factor in the development of a country. This obviously indicates that governments should take the practical character of researches and academic movements in their countries into account in order to have a sustainable and gradual development.

The second reason which is worth some words is that the governments can economize on their budgets by eliminating funds devoted to studies which have no use and accordingly no efficiency and by injecting these funds to other areas of action within the country such as sports, arts, and employment. The result of a survey done by the New York Times in Washington D.C. and California proves that 68 percents of people have tendency toward having more spaces for sportive exercises, artistic activities and better job opportunities rather than having the possibility of enjoying other standards and factors including the mere academic or abstracts debates and researches which will bring no prosperity or accomplishments for the society and the youth.

Eventually, as it is obvious from the aforementioned reasons, one can simply realize that investing in non-practical researches cannot be a reasonable or rational point of view and is defendable in no way. As a conclusion, I dramatically disagree with the latter idea based on the reasons I presented and other reasons which could not be addressed for the dearth of time.