Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally, government’s decisions on how to invest its budget in various subjects have an absolutely crucial impact on the future of the country, since they determine the level of allocated energy and budget that should invest on different grounds. In this regard some people believe it is best for government to invest in support of art, while others believe that it should invest on athletics. I, personally, subscribe to the former one due to a number of reasons, two of which are of great importance compared to others, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, investing in the art have a more long-lasting effect compared to athletic achievements. It is incontrovertibly axiomatic that the art is the symbol of the culture and civilization of a nation. Hence, it is vital to cherish and preserve our culture, since our history reminds us our achievements and traditions and is a prominent part of our identity. Thus, it is essential for government to try its best to support art. These acts can have a durable impact in our history. In contrast, supporting the athletic activities, which are just some kinds of ephemeral phenomena, will be forgotten sooner or later. For instance, the art works of Leonardo Da Vinci, which are the most precious masterpieces of all time, have survived over centuries and have contributed enormously to the culture and history of the nation. People nowadays and throughout the whole history have always cherish this art, yet no one remembers anything about athletic activities of that time.

Having discussed the issue from the previous point of view I would rather look at it from another perspective. Nowadays there are very few organizations and groups all around the world that are willing to support artistic activities. These kinds of act receive less attention on the side of authorities, media and people and, except for the minority of people who are engaged in art industry, no one cares about the subsistence of art. In contrary, different strata of the society have an inclination to follow the most up-to-date news and events contributing to athletic activities. A large number of companies, organizations and advertisement groups are willing to be a sponsor for various athletic groups, since investing in such areas help them gain a hoard of money. For instance, during the world cup or Olympic Games a huge number of organizations support athletes who are supposed to participate the Olympic, hence athletes do not have difficulties concerning economic issues.

In summary, taken to account all above-mentioned arguments into consideration it can be concluded that governments should invest in supporting art rather that athletics. Not only does this investment have a longer effect in the history of a nation, but also it will help this industry survive, since no other organization will do so.