Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

•Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade.

•Say nothing.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally, communication has a pivotal role in our knowledge and conception of the world around us, and talking is one of the most essential means of it. The facts discussed in a conversation or a lecture might have different levels of reliability. Sometimes people may claim opinions that seem to be incorrect in our perspective. I personally believe that in a class or a meeting we should not interrupt the talk and wait until the class or meeting ends and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader for a couple of reasons which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, interrupting the lecturer in the middle of the lecture is not polite at all, since being quiet and listening to the lecturer is an act of respect in every culture. When we allow the lecturer to continue his or her words, we show them that we gratitude the time and energy that they are devoting to share their knowledge with us. In addition, there is a possibility that the lecturer will notice their mistake and correct it, since for many people talking among people may feel stressful and they may not be able to concentrate properly. Hence, waiting is a better option, because it provide them enough time.

Secondly, just because some thing seems incorrect to us does not mean that it is completely incorrect. There is a possibility that we are wrong. Hence, it is not worth to take other people's time by disruptingthe lecture. We can simply wait till the end, and discuss our idea with the lecturer at the end. In addition, some times the lecturer wants to explain some thing by stating an incorrect statement intentionally. For instance, I had a psychology professor in university that used to use this method. She used to begin a lecture by stating some wrong beliefs among people to draw our attention to the fact that they are not logically true, and they are just some misbeliefs. At the beginning we used to complain and interrupt her for her wrong statements, but after a while we learned that there is no need to do so, since she herself will explain why she has said so.

To sum up, in a conversation or lecture when the lecturer says something incorrect it is better to be quiet and wait till the end, since not only it is an indicator of our respect toward the speaker, but also it may be our mistake and lack of knowledge.