Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally, universities have a leading role in the progress of societies in science and technology grounds. Hence, improving its performance is of great importance. University professors, as the main members of universities, have a critical profession. In this regard, some people believe that in order to improve the quality of education universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Others believe that this budget should be spent in other aspects. I, personal, subscribe to the former one, due to a number of reasons, two of which are of great importance, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, university professors should not be involved in economic issues. It is crystal clear that university professors have compact schedules. They should make sure to update their knowledge day by day, since they have a vital role in discovering new method, ideas, hypotheses and so forth. Besides, they put a lot of effort to work in laboratories and classes preparing materials for lecture. Concerning this, they should not be worried about some trivial issues like their economic situations or how to make ends meet on their low salaries. In other words, they should enjoy job satisfaction in order to have incentive to continue their works. In addition, it prevents them from getting stressed out. Thus, they can work in a calm appropriate tension-free atmosphere and easily concentrate on their duties, which results in a dramatic progress of the educational system

Having discussed the issue form the previous perspective, I would rather look at it from another point of view. Having more salaries enables professors to invest in researching more. They can spend their salaries to equip laboratories and take more students and technicians to work and research. Hence, students can enjoy having access to various state-of-the-art facilities. Consequently, students will be more willing to pursue their studies or even may have a dream of becoming of the future professors. The increase in research will definitely lead to a thriving industry and development of the country in scientific, economical, political and social grounds.

In summary, considering all above mentioned arguments, it can be concluded that the best way to improve the quality of education in a society is to increase the salaries of university professors. In doing so, not only it brings about more job satisfaction, but also it paves the way to induce the research spirit and budget for the next breakthroughs.