Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally, parents have a determining effect in the success of children in their education because they can be the best encourager and supporter. In this regard, some parents believe that offering their children money for each high grade will help them. Others, on the other hand, disagree with this behavior. I personally subscribe to the former one for couple of reasons. In the next paragraphs I will explain my reasons.

Firstly, giving children money for their high grades is a good stimulus to encourage them to try more. Children, especially at the very young ages, might not be aware of the importance of striving in their education, since they tend to enjoy some ephemeral pleasures like spending all of their time going out with their friends or playing video games. Hence, parents can take advantageous of this opportunity and guide them to have an incentive to study hard. In addition, children will appreciate this behavior in the future, when they achieve their educational goals. For instance, when I was in elementary school I did not like to study mathematics. Instead, I used to spend most of my time playing video games. Then my mother told me that if I get a high grade in math, she will give me some money. Since I needed that money in order to buy more video games, I tried hard to study more, and eventually it helped me a lot, because when I enter high school, I was the best in mathematics in our class.

Having discussed the issue form previous point of view, I would rather look at it from another perspective. Encouraging children with money is the best way to teach them that their effort would be appreciated. Were children offered money in exchange of trying, they will learn that if they try hard and have persistence and perseverance, they will be awarded. Thus, they can be successful individuals, because they always are trying to reach the pinnacle of their performance. In other words, this behavior is a great tool to prepare children for future. In addition, according to studies giving children rewards and encouraging them is more effective than punishment. So offering money for high grades will definitely help them improve.

Taking all above mentioned arguments into consideration, it can be concluded that offering children money for they high grades is beneficiary. Not only does it encourage them to do their best, but also it will teach them that every effort will be paid back.