Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally, with the unexampled progress of the modern world today, media plays an absolutely crucial role in every aspect of the people's life. Young people, as the most prominent members of the society are no exception. In this regard, some people believe that media have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave, while others think otherwise. I, personally, subscribe to the former one for a number of reasons, two of which are of great importance compared to others, which are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, media has an astonishing impact on the spread of disobedience and misbehavior among teenagers and children. Young people, as the most vulnerable members of the society, are exposed to improper contents such as violence, disobedience and delinquency. They watch their heroes, whose goals are reaching fame and wealth in the expense of ignoring moralities, and find a kind of inclination toward these evil behaviors. As an example, couple of days ago I read in news that a teenager had a severe row with one of his friends at school. According to the article, the reason was that he thought that his friend had stolen some money from his bag and he declared that he was imitating his favorite actor's behavior in order to take revenge. Were it not for the influence of the violent content of the movies, he would not act that way.

Having discussed the issue from the previous perspective I would rather look at it from another point of view. Media has provided an environment that persuades young people especially teenagers to imitate some improper role models and become a slave to the fashion industry. Nowadays, we see teenagers that allot a huge deal of their precious time and energy to be aware of the latest trends in the fashion world. On the other hand, the powerful authorities use celebrities as a tool to achieve their intentional goals, which is attracting teenagers to their industry. These process prevents teenagers from focusing on their educational purposes, and more importantly, from thinking about some essential issues in their life, like finding a decent goal for their life. Hence, they pay less attention to improve their personality.

In summary, taken into account all the above-mentioned arguments into consideration it can be concluded that media have more negative effects on young children than positive effects. Not only does it convey some improper content to this vulnerable stratum, but also it makes them a slave to follow the unsuitable role models and waste their precious time in the expense of the progress of fashion industry.