Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings have been involved in a great struggle in decision making process, since it plays a pivotal role in human beings survival. Family members, especially parents have an undeniable impact in developing this skill. In this regard, some people believe that young people, nowadays, are less dependent on their parents compared to past times. Others disagree. I personally subscribe to the former one. In the following paragraphs I will explain my most convincing reasons.

First and foremost, young people are more knowledgeable and educated compared to the past. The high education has brought about more self-cognizance for people. Today, the educated society enjoys economic growth, convenience and social and cultural developments, which have provided high living standards for people who live in this era. Hence, young people today have more self-confidence and take risks and adventures to broaden their horizons. In addition, in the past young people used to rely on their parents, because they did not have independency. Today, thanks to good education, young people can find an appropriate job, get independent and can decide for their own lives very soon.

Secondly, the development of communication tools and media has revolutionized our decision making process. The galloping rate in which science and technology are flourishing has made the dream of a global village come true. Today, people can easily get in touch with each other. The state-of-the-art communication tools have facilitated interactions between people. People can easily communicate with different people with similar problems from very distant places and ask for an advice. Additionally, young people as the members who are dealing with high speed communication tools and media the most have other opportunity to ask for an advice rather than their parents. On the other hand, these facilities were lacking in the past, which makes the current era the best time for living.

To sum up, today, young people have been more independent from their parents in making decisions compared to past time, for not only the high educational atmosphere of the society has brought about more self-cognizance and wisdom, but also advanced communicational tools have provided various opportunities to get in touch with other people with similar experiences.