Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally knowledge plays a pivotal role in human being's life since it brings about development. In this regard, I believe that being aware of the events happening around the world is of great importance, even if it is unlikely that they will affect our life. In the following paragraphs I will elucidate my most convincing reasons.

First and foremost, knowing about global issues induces awareness among people. The galloping rate in which science and technology are flourishing, and with the emergence of advanced mass communication media, people deal with a huge amount of information which has made the "global village" concept. These pieces of information have a crucial effect on our perspective of the world around us. Having this in mind, being aware of the incidents around the world is inevitable. At first glance it might seem that some events taking place far from us do not affect our life, but as history has always taught us that we should learn from past lessons, the same goes for incidents around the world. Hence, if we always keep our information up-to-date we can avert the devastating consequences of repeating other people's mistakes.

Having discussed the issue from the previous perspective, I would rather look at it from another point of view. In the developed world today there is a tight correspondence among various issues. It is not of surprise that a very insignificant issue in a pretty far place has an indirect effect in different aspects of our life. For instance, I remember I read somewhere that once there was a huge war in one of the Middle East countries. At first, for those European developed countries, which were really far from that war and had little contribution with it, it had no importance, but after a while people of that country started to leave there and seeking refuge in European countries. Thus, in long run European countries started to face serious issues like increase in diseases and social problems which could have been simply prevented with a little foresight. As we can see, there is no unimportant affairs around the world and we should not take the influence of knowing about events for granted.

Taking all above mentioned arguments into consideration, it can be concluded that being aware of the events all around the world is an indisputable part of our daily life for not only does it contribute to increase in awareness and knowledge, but also has a critical impact either direct or indirect in our life.