Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without a shadow of doubt, famous people's life style draw many people's attention for, they are always under the magnifying glass. In this regard, different groups of people are more or less willing to know about their opinion about various subjects. In my view, the opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more interesting to younger people rather than older people for couple of reasons, among which the youngster’s demand for a perfect role model and being the prime target of the fashion industry’s intention are the most essential.

First and foremost, young people's need for finding an appropriate role model in their life leads them to go after the most famous people in the society, celebrities. During those young ages, teenagers usually have a feeling of confusion and they have a strong desire to imitate some successful, appealing and well-known person to gain other's attention. Undoubtedly, celebrities as one of the most accepted and attractive members of the society, are at the top of teenagers’ list. Teenagers see the whole society, especially their friends, paying attention to every single move by celebrities. Hence, they think that if they pursue these famous people, they would gain that popularity and acceptance among people. In addition, when young people see their friends pursue the events relevant to celebrities, they just want to keep up with the flow in order not to be left behind. Older people on the other hand, do not deal with these issues since, they have already reached a high level of self-cognizance. Thus, they do not feel that they should follow celebrities for the sake of getting others' attention.

Having discussed the issue from the previous point of view, I would rather look at it from another perspective. Young people are more likely to be targeted by some invisible hands behind the scene. Fashion industry seeks to attract its customers and it reaches this goal by the means of mass media, because mass media has the most determining effect in popularizing celebrities. Therefore, celebrities pave the way for the success of fashion industry by attracting more and more people, and trying to persuade them to mimic their life style. Since the majority of the mass media's audience consists of young people, they are more exposed to this intelligent plan. In contrary, older people usually do not have that time and energy to follow celebrities and famous people. So they are less likely to pay attention to celebrities’ affairs.

Taking all above-mentioned arguments into consideration, it can be concluded that young people care more about celebrities. They not only do find famous people as the best option to help them gain acceptance in society, but also are targeted by fashion industry to be attracted to their business.