Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is critically important that students work hard as much as possible. Personally, I believe grades are a motivation factor for students. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, grades encourage competition between students. To be more specific grades will create a competitive environment in the class. Consequently, the student will study hard to compete with his/her colleagues. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was a student in elementary school, my English teacher used to encourage us to speak English in the classroom by giving us bonus marks for each sentence. Therefore, all students studied hard and memorized many English words. So, grades are a perfect motivator to work harder.

Furthermore, grades are the best tool to evaluate the students' work. Tests and grades are crucial tools to test the student's ability. Moreover, grades can show and measure the work done by students. For instance, When I was a student in high school, the teachers used grades to test our works, and the student who studies hard always got top grades, so it was the correct method to test our abilities and our works.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades are a pivotal tool to evaluate and encourage students to do their best in education. This is because grades are the correct method also are a perfect motivator for the students.