Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is very important that students study hard at school. Teachers can encourage and motivate their students by praising and complimenting them when they succeed. Giving grades is considered the main item of motivation for most students. I partly agree with this statement because students will work hard if they see progress in their studies. However, some problems may occur.

The main reason why I believe grading is encouraging students is, when students see their progress in their subjects, they eventually start to study even harder to reach the maximum score in any subject. They also receive praises from their parents, which makes them even more motivated. Getting good grades makes their admission to university or college an easier goal because good grades attract top schools. Universities seek students that are diligent and hard-working. Teachers should also help their students to get good grades because their scores are only dependent on how their teacher evaluates them. Overall, help and encouragement from students' relatives will more likely make them get better grades, which is very good.

In addition, grades make students how important studying is because without good grades a good future is pretty much impossible. And when they understand that, they get even more motivation to study harder and better. Their whole future career depends on how well they study in their classes.

However, getting bad grades can make students demotivated, as they see them fail at certain tasks. Some parents scold their kids for bad grades, which can make them hate studying in general. There are many examples of smart students that got bad grades, because of the poor influence of the others.

In conclusion, I believe that grades can motivate and encourage students to study harder,however, there might be some situations that make grading system badly influence the students and eventually demotivate them from studying