Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Learning and studying are the most important pillars of each society in today's world. Although there are many methods that enhance students' wiling sense to learn, some of these methods are traditional and they will not have efficient in the students' learning rate. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether marks can encourage students to learn or not. Some people possess the conviction that this traditional method has benefits and the learning rate can go through the roof, whereas I think there are many beneficial methods that we can use to encourage students to study instead of using their grades. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind elucidating my standpoint is that grades do not the students' potential abilities for learning. As we use the old methods for learning, these methods will affect badly on students' learning rates. Some students are under pressure and stress on an exam day So they cannot show their knowledge. After the exam, when they get their scores, they will get upset and discouraged to continue learning. Consider my personal experience to make this point more clear. When I was at school, we had a final exam at each semester. Our teacher evaluated our performance after the exam based on our grades. Although I endeavored, I could not focus on the question during the exam I got the worse scores. I tried to explain the situation to my teacher and she told me that I can do final research instead of an exam. Eventually, I could get a high score in the class.

The second rational reason behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that grades and marks can make students more competitive and it will increase the tension in class. It goes without saying that when students get to grips with increasing their grades, it makes some of them start to act inappropriately and make hard circumstances, like jealousy toward their friends or ruining their relationships. In this situation, the learning rate will decrease and everyone in the class will not able to focus on the lessons.

In brief, due to the aforementioned reasons, I think it is not a wise approach that grades can encourage students to learn because it will increase stress in each individual and also increase the competition in class as well. It is anticipated that teachers can use other ways rather than grades to encourage the students which have more benefits for them and can improve the learning rate and enhance their friendship.