High school students should be required to study many different subjects at same time or they should study only three to four subjects at a time?

There have long been many arguments toward high school educations. Although some educators suggest that high school students should study a few subjects at a time, I am strongly against the idea.

High school education is fundamentally essential, even the unrelated subjects. As a student who has finished all high school learning process, I firmly believe that every subject I've learned from high school courses is critical to my thinking agility. Even though I decide to be a scientist, those unrelated knowledge such as history and geography still broaden my sights and build my common sense. One of my friends resolving to be a writer also told me that learning coding helped her with logical thinking.

High school is different from college: it requires width more than depth. Some people may argue that students should spend more time focusing on their professions. Learning too many subjects would take them efforts to deal with extra loading. I do not deny the importance of expertise. High school, however, is still not college. Studying three to four subjects only is way too inadequate for their knowledge development. Colleges would be the proper place to build higher professions and to drill deeper interests.

Learning more subjects helps cultivate interdisciplinary talents. In this rapidly changing society, people with various ability become more competitive. If our education requires youngsters develop different skills and knowledges, they might be competent in different realms. By doing this, they will also be able to integrate what they have learned to create new fields, which is vital for new generations.

In sum, high school should require students to take courses on different subjects rather than only few, Not only because high school education is basic and necessary regardless of future careers, but also because it is a place where students should learn widely more than deeply. Most importantly, the world is now desperately in need of interdisciplinary talents. Wide education is definitely critical for high school students.