Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often considered as a bad quality for a person. However, some people think that is a good quality for a person

Critical decisions result in profound consequences. Therefore, how to make decisions is what everyone should concern with. Some people make decisions effectively, whereas others are used to take a long time doing it. There has been a debate on whether making a decision slowly is a good quality of a person or not. Such controversy seems to have no correct answer. Personally, I consider that to be a very good quality.

To begin with, vital decisions are usually complicated, and they require detailed planning. It is the comprehensive consideration that brings about the better decision. After all, a longer period of time gives us a wider space to concern more of the aspects.

In addition to that, fast yet erroneous decision making took more time in the near future. Namely, if you decide on an important issue very quickly, you might need to spend more time dealing with the negative impact it brings. Take my aunt, for example. She chose to study economics just to earn more money, though she was not enthusiastic towards it at all. Realizing the related field was far from her imagination and interests, she took the big exam again to enter the department of history. She once told me that although it took her three years more than others to enter the department of history, she was anything but regretful. The first decision she made had wasted her three years, but she could have wasted more if she didn't wake up from the illusion. If she has thought a little more, a little longer, she might have opt for the department of history from the very beginning.

Based on the reasons below, to make a decision slowly might lower the possibility of inconsideration, and it could also prevent ourselves from wasting more time. Taking a long time making decisions is somehow a good quality to me, and it is instrumental to the right decisions.