Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

At the society nowadays, there is no doubt that students‘ course requirement is a crucial part in education. A simple recognition lends on our discussion to the questions of which subject should be on the “must-take” list. Namely, every student must take that course regardless of fields he or she studies. Although some people adhere to the belief that history is necessary, in my vantage point, it should better be an optional one.

To begin with, only part of university students would take career in history field in the future. Some people might argue that historical knowledge can improve our common sense regardless of our future careers. As a matter of fact, however, students have already achieved that before entering university. Namely, university is a place where students learn more about their professions than fundamental knowledge—depth is more important than width.

The second point is that defining how much history students are required to learn is difficult. Since history is an extremely complicated and exhausting subject, it is impossible for anyone to learn all the history of the world. Under normal circumstances, we adhere to learn either those profound events on earth or ones specifically relating to us. Personally, I would suggest that university students should decide how deep they want to drill in history.

In addition, taking history courses without interests is absolutely a waste of time. According to some education experts, history is a subject specifically in need of patience and enthusiasms. Otherwise, it would only become a subject with plenty of things and ages to memorize, which makes the whole learning process unmeaningful and ineffective.

On the whole according to the above-mentioned points and details, it is crystal-clear that taking history course should not be a requirement to university students. It is high time that we gave the options back to students themselves, so that students can acquire more about professions in university, decide how much and what type of history they want to understand, and ensure they learn effectually.