Holidays honor people or events. If you could create a new holiday, what person or event would it honor and how would you want people to celebrate it? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Nowadays, due to the structure of every contemporary society and the modern way of thinking, people perceive holidays just like another chance to skip work, or stop going to school. However, behind every holiday there is a deeper meaning and that is to celebrate a unique action or event that have happened in our history. If I had the chance to invent a new holiday, it would be about honoring actions that saved our environment. It would last for 5 days, and celebrated in several steps.

First of all, each day, people around the world would be gathered in small groups. The purpose of this action is that one is more likely to appreciate the value of a holiday when actively participates in its occurrence. Each group would be consisted of people from different generations, or cultures. Consequently, a lecture in honor of the brightest and most active environmentalists would take place, thus improving everyone's knowledge around that topic.

Secondly, people would be asked to contemplate the consequences that human activity had in our environment, and propose possible measures that should be enforced in order to prevent them. This step's intention is to increase cooperation amongst team members in order to make specific suggestions. Therefore, people amongst the group will socialize by exchanging opinions. In addition, some of them might be influenced or inspired by other members and therefore, try harder in order to impress them. Moreover, another incentive might become the fierce competition amongst team members or teams that might occur and affect in a positive way the team's outcome.

Finally, all of those proposals would be submitted in every country's government, that must inflict at least one of them. Hence, a lot of people will be awarded for their efforts, thus becoming more willing to try harder next year. On the other hand, othe groups would not give up but give their best next time. Thus, people would form bonds of friendship with each other, and very beneficial measure would have been taken by every government for the sake of the environment, simultaneously.