How do movies or television influence people’s behavior?

Determining what drives human being and its behavior has been a major concern for the last century. However, at this time, there is not consensus on how technology could shape our behavior. Even though many would argue that television or movies have little impact in people behavior, I think that television has a huge impact in shaping peoples characters, due to cultural, sociological and psychological reasons.

First of all, Cultural Issues. Despite having satellite TV, cable TV or Neftlix, the cultural programs are in retrieve. Moreover, in these days people are not watching any culture on TV they prefer programs such as realities or series. This is a big change in people behavior, in other words, people do not enjoy watching ballet, Opera or science program, and this change is in my opinion a consequence due to new programs on TV. For example, my kids used to love watch NatGeo Wild programs, but ones I got Netflix they only want to see cartoons.

Secondly, the amount of time dedicated to watch TV or movies is becoming excessive and its natural consequence is a change in the way we socialize. Is a sad true that these days’ people do not have long conversation with others because they are captured by TV shows. Keeping in this train of thinking, I think that because of TV people are suffering an impairment of its relationship

Finally, but the more important, psychological changes. I remember when I was a child, my parents always told me: TV shows an imaginary world. Nowadays, kids are confused by realities shows which claim to have “real life “ on TV, moreover they think that perfection is a must, furthermore, they have suffer changes in their behavior due to frustration of not having the perfect bodies , smiles or clothes that TV shows. For example, when my daughter sow her first reality, called “my sweet 15” She experimented anxiety and frustration because she wanted to have the same kind of parties, which she thought it was the “normal “life of everybody.

In summary, on the one hand, TV and technology have the power to improve people’s life but on the other hand, it has consequences in people’s behavior that should be considered and analyzed. Moreover, no matter the type of TV, we must keep in mind that watching TV is shaping people’s behavior through cultural, sociological and psychological ways