How do movies or television influence people’s behavior?

Films, movies and television have great impact on individuals’ behavior. From my perspective, the most noticeable way that such entertainments influence people is by providing role models. My opinion is based on two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

On one hand, movies and television provides society with lots of negative role models, which influence people, especially teenagers, in a negative way. Since young people are willing to emulate their role models, nowadays we can see more teenagers get involved in violence, sexism, racism or other inappropriate behaviors. For example, in many popular TV shows criminals are presented as heroes; therefore, teenagers may imitate their typical behaviors such as smoking or consuming alcohol.

On the other hand, television also provides people with a lot of positive role models. There are tremendous examples of traditional conservative families and caring people from various backgrounds and cultures. My own family often takes inspirations from parents and children we see on TV shows like “Road to Avonlea” and “Anne of Green Gables” and other films of this genre. I can definitely feel the positive effect of beloved fictional characters on my parents’ mood.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that television influences the way people behave by providing various role models, both positive and negative; and that how it influence people’s behaviors depends on what kind of movies they choose to watch.