How do movies or television influence people's behavior?

It's not an overstatement if we claim that media has affected people of the modern world more than anything else, second only to the two world wars. However, the gravity of its effect, in both positive and negative ways, is arguable. While we can highlight the instructional, and documentary side of television programs and movies, we cannot overlook the way it has mold individuals' identities, which has caused an irreparable damage on humans' minds. Hence, its effect can be viewed from two opposite perspective.

In today's modern world, media has been utilized in most countries as a tool to instruct and educate people of every age group. The television schedule is replete with educational programs, teaching various kinds of subjects. No matter where one is located in the world, be it an underdeveloped country or a highly-modernized society, s/he can benefit from these programs. Moreover, many of the documentaries, available in both cinematheques and also television channels, provide people with various science-related facts of the world. Hadn't these instructional materials been available through a free or low-budget medium like television or cinema, most of now-educated people would have been unaware of the world state of affairs. In effect, instructional programs on TV and documentary movies have been a boon to humanity.

However, media's influence is not always positive. There are numerous studies that have investigated how media shape individuals’ minds, and accordingly have an influence on their manners. In this regard, the age group that is mostly disturbed by TV's adverse effects is children and young adults. Most of them act out the uncensored violence they find easily in TV programs and movies. Moreover, the number of children who play truant from school is rising unprecedentedly due to the fact that they fall behind their dues as they spend most of their time in front of the "goggle box". This has led to a concern on the side of parents and social activist who insist on government's role in regulating and banning certain kinds of programs that have a detrimental effect on the minds of these young adults.

In sum, if used in a conscious way, television programs and movies can help foster a child's or a young adult's development, presenting him/her with precious information. Conversely, it can have a negative effect if parents and governments be ignorant in regulating and limiting the time these young adults spend in front of tv or in cinemas, watching the big screen. At the end, it all boils down to the way it is used.