If you are required to give feedback about your classmates/colleagues (work or performance), would you like to give positive comments or negative comments first?

It is no secret that it is of paramount importance to give feedback to colleagues and classmates to encourage them to improve their work for the possible outcomes. The importance in this regard often leads to serious controversies as to whether it is better to give positive comments first or rather state the negative ones first. Personally, though, I utterly subscribe to this idea that it is by far better to give positive comments first. To support this, there are several reasons, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

My first reason is a little bit personal. By giving the positive comment first, you introduce yourself as a nice person. Ever since I was a little kid, it was critically important for me to portray myself as a warm and kind guy and for me, to be loved is crucial. Otherwise, I might fall into the trap of feeling unworthy, and overthinking on this matter propels me to the downward spiral of depression. Take my personal experience as a compelling evidence of this. Back in the days of high school, as I was a top student, my math teacher asked me to help students to solve their math problems. Unfortunately, due to the lack of experience in this regard, although I realized that regardless of the results, they gave their all to solve the problems, my behavior was so harsh that I left a very bad impression on them and as a consequence, I lost a few good friends as they thought I am an arrogant guy who had looked down on them. Although I tried to ask for their forgiveness nothing changed. Obviously, I don't want something like this to ever happen to me or anyone again.

Furthermore, when you give the positive comment first, you are more likely to have the trust of that person. To put it differently, by giving positive feedback first, you are implicitly telling her that I value your job and it was absolutely good. In this scenario, she might drop her guard and unconsciously think of you as a trustworthy person. If you put your best foot forward first, you assure the person you are talking to that you are on her side and the succeeding negative are not in any way a mean to undermine your work, but to perfect it. A recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yields several statistics one of which suggests that in such cases, it is by far better to tell the person you are talking to the good comment first as she is more likely to feel your support at the beginning. Therefore, the negative comments look more friendly. This paints a vivid portrait of the importance of giving the positive feedback first.

To wrap it up, contemplating on what was discussed above, I am of the strong conviction that it is better to give the good feedback first because by doing this, you depict yourself as a friendly and good person, and because giving the good comment first helps you to have the trust of the person you are dealing with.