At work or school, you might encounter a problem that requires creativity -for example, you are given a task to complete that is very different from other tasks you do. In work or school situation that requires you to think creatively, would you prefer to work alone or with others? Why?

In this modern day and age, creativity is of paramount importance as it can help individuals to come up with game-changing solutions to overcome difficult problems. A controversial question that might arise here is that whether people prefer to work alone relying only on their own creativity or count on others as well to solve a certain problem. Though there is no definite answer to this question, I utterly subscribe to this idea that it is better to work with others. To support this, there are several perspectives, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

First and foremost, no matter how bright or smart an individual is, there might be people out there, who does not necessarily approach a problem for a point of view the same as him/her. Therefore, one might suffer from having blind spots that can be illuminated only throughout broadening his/her horizon. Working in close tandem with individuals in a team and benefiting from their creativity can help people to gain insight into a certain topic from another perspective. This knowledge enhancement can be an immense asset in the future in case one encounter a similar problem. I am of the strong conviction that working in a group can not only show individuals as a team player, but also can be advantageous to them in terms of accomplishing what they are looking after in a perfect fashion as the shortcomings would be enormously less in comparison to working alone.

Furthermore, working with other people and incorporating all members creativity can also save the group a significant amount of time. Nowadays, projects are becoming more and more interdisciplinary and require people with different expertise to work together. It goes without saying that some members are more creative in certain fields than others. Therefore, a good idea would be partitioning the job into several tasks and assign each to one or two member whose creativity can be counted on regarding that specific field. As a result, the whole project has the potential to turn out exceptionally novel since a wide variety of individuals each uniquely creative in their own field has made a positive contribution to solve that very problem, all these in a short amount of time and it is no secret how time is an invaluable asset in both academia and business.

To wrap it up, contemplating what was discussed above, I genuinely believe that completing projects on a team and counting on others’ creativity as well as yours would absolutely result in better outcomes. This is because more shortcomings would be fixed with the creativity of others, and because partitioning tasks in groups would save individuals a significant amount of time as each can positively impact the problem with their creativity which is a key to challenging tasks.