If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

I live in Kabul, capital of Afghanistan. Kabul has accommodated around 5 million people, while the city was designed to accommodate around 400 thousand residents. Most of the current populations have immigrated from the villages during the civil war and taken refuge in this city. Now the city faces numerous issues, most notably air pollution which brings about and spreads various lung and heart diseases among the residents. So, the one important thing that I would change is public transportation system. I will explain it in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the current transportation system is not efficient, because the people use old and out of order cars to go to work and some people as transportation means to earn money to afford their family expenses. These old cars and vehicles produces a lot of smokes that cause lung disease and heart diseases. The cost of these cars are the death of thousands of the residents, especially children. Therefore, I will invest enough budget and effort for buying and providing new and proper cars and vehicles.

Second, traffic policies and rules are not updated and relevant for the current needs of the city: the current transportation system is not under any control from traffic management department. So, they cause a lot of traffic jam, as they don’t observe the traffic rules. Most of the drivers do not understand the rules, as they are illiterate. On the other hand, most of them get the driving license illegally and without take driving tests. I will develop effective policies, procedures for the traffic and transportation system in this city. For example, strict rules and reinforcement of the law would help improve the transportation in the city.

Thirdly, I will reconstruct the roads, avenues and streets. One of the main reasons for the inefficiency of the current transportation is non-standard roads and avenues that cause heavy traffic jams and consequently air pollution.

In conclusion, the transportation system in Kabul is not efficient and causes air pollution and spread of diseases. So, I will change it and improve it, because firstly, the vehicles that are used for transportation are old and out of order, second, the policies and rules are not updated according to the current needs of the city, and thirdly the roads do not meet standards and criteria for an efficient transportation system.