A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory?

Building a large factory has advantages and disadvantages for a nearby community. However, I think its advantages are more than its disadvantages. I will compare the advantages against its disadvantages in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, a large factory will create jobs for the nearby community. These jobs would be directly related to the factory and indirectly. The factory needs human resources that can recruit from the nearby community. It is for the benefit of the community and the factory. The community members will find a job and earn money to afford their personal and family expenses, and the factory does not pay for the transportation of the workers who are recruited from the nearby community. If the factory recruits the workers from communities far from the factory location, it should pay for the transportation of the workers. Or the workers should pay themselves that affect their willingness and also their requests for higher salaries to compensate the transportation. However, if the workers’ homes are close to the factory, they will not need transportation or pay less than those who come from far locations.

Secondly, the factory will create indirect jobs for the community as well. It includes transportation of the goods and materials that the factory needs and also other daily needs. The local people and community can have a role in supplying these materials or they would have a role in its transportation.

Thirdly, it will have paved the way for development of the community. It needs roads, electricity etc., that the community will benefit from.

On the other hand, it would have disadvantages too. Air pollution, pollutions of the areas by the factory wastes are the disadvantages that the factory brings with itself to the community. Even through, the government and the environment policies can reduce this disadvantage, but it would remain as an issue. For example, a factory that produces goods that is produced from chemical materials the wastes usually spread the areas and disposed in the nearby areas. This would result in diseases. Air pollution is one of the major problem around the world that resulted from the factories.

In conclusion, building a factory in a nearby area has advantages for the community and disadvantages. The advantages, however, are more than disadvantages. It will create direct and indirect jobs for the people live in a community, and paved the way for development of the community. Also disadvantages like air pollution and pollution of the environment that brings about diseases.