If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

There are a lot of things in my hometown that should be changed, but I would prefer to change the public transportation system of my hometown. Since it is an inefficient system, has caused diseases, traffic jam etc. I will explain it the following paragraphs.

First, the current traffic system is an old one. It was designed for a city with 400,000 residents, while the current population of my hometown reach to more than 4 million people. For this reason, many people use their private cars and vehicles to go to work or any other business. Therefore, it does not suffice the needs of the population and must change.

Second, the roads are old and non-standard which causes a lot of heavy traffic jam. It does not meet the current population needs for transportation. The current roads are narrow and not wide enough to allow these number of cars to pass. The crossroads are not properly designed and do not have traffic signs and signals. The traffic jam will cause the cars to run for hours which produces poisonous smokes.

Thirdly, the policies and rules for current traffic system is not updated for many decades. It was developed for a city with a population of 400 thousand not millions. It does not meet the current needs of the public transportation system. This causes inefficiency of the traffic that is one of the major causes of the lung diseases.

Therefore, since the cars are old, roads are not standardized, and the traffic and transportation policies are not updated, the current transportation system not only does not respond to the needs of the current population of my hometown, but also, causes diseases that are brought about by this inefficient transportation system.