If you could make one important change in a school that you attended, what

change would you make? Use reasons and specific examples to support your

answer.

Schools are where people start to think about their life and career that’s why it is very important to prepare each school to meet the learning environment. If I could make one change in the college that I attend, I would make the dorms compulsory for the students. Because dorms offer a good shift from childhood to adulthood, and they also give opportunity to meet and befriend other students. I will detail my reasons in the next paragraphs.

The first reason is that it will help students transition from childhood to adulthood. This will be the first time they have to be without the guardianship of their parents. This time will allow them to discover things about their personalities and make life choices. For instance, I depended all my school years on my parent until I reached the School of Pharmacy. Even though, it was my decision to join that college but I had acted like a child through all these years. So when I entered college I joined the dorm which totally changed me. I started to live independently which surprised my parents and even me because I wasn’t expecting that I could wash my clothes, clean my room and cook. Then I felt confident to take vital decisions in my life without hesitation.

Secondly, dorms give chance to meet and befriend other students since they offer great social environment for everybody, no matter what their race, religion and background. For example, the dorm that I used to live in was very big and it had students not only from medical colleges but also from non medical colleges. We all had a strong bond and we never asked each other about our race or religion. That unique friendship which took place at that time is until now even though some of us migrate to different countries but we still renuion every year and whoever is available in the country at that time attend the party.

In conclusion, if my college will take this point in consideration; a big change was going to happen. The transition of the student personality to the adulthood and the social environment that provided in the dorm are the reasons why I chose that change to happen in the school housing system.