Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “Video games offer benefits to children.” Provide reason and examples to support your stance.

In my opinion, video games are the danger that is threatening our young generations in different ways. Recently, they have become the most attractive entertainment for children everywhere. But when this attraction turns into an addiction that harms the physical health, affects mentality or even impairs the quality of life, then a red flag should be raised and serious actions must be taken before it’s too late. Therefore, I don’t agree that computer games offer any advantages for young aged.

Firstly, the programmers of these electronic games design them in a tempting form and are confident that children will love them, and don’t mind spending a long time playing on them. My point here is that some kids suffer from vision impairments and even brain damage as misusing them affects certain areas that are responsible for the eyes and brain functions. For instance, my eight-year-old daughter used to spend all day playing on her tablet.one day, she woke up screaming because of headaches. When we took her to the doctor, he said that was due to focusing for long times on the screen. Then we limited the screen time into one hour per week which has worked very good.

Secondly, these games affect children’s psychological coherence and their relationships with others. Excessive game playing can cause depression, lack of concentration and self-control which would result in violent behaviors and even suicide. I read a report a couple of weeks ago about a 13-year-old who had stabbed his teacher to death. When the police caught him he said that he had copied one of the characters of PlayStation. His mom said that her son had changed a lot had and become, aggressive, nervous and loved to lock himself in his room. He had lost interest in studying months before the murder after he had always been so good at school. Just like that, that little boy has lost everything because of these games.

Lastly, these games affect the living satisfaction of the young aged. Because when they waste their time playing, that will affect the other aspects. They will miss going out with friends, studying, eating at regular times and even sleeping regularly. Children don’t know how to regulate their time without the help of adults. But if adults neglected to organize their kids’ time, they would stay playing all day long. I will use the same example as my daughter.

In conclusion, I don’t consider video games has any beneficial effects on children in anyways. In fact, they could be the reason for a lot of complications that kids might face during their lives.