If you could travel back in time to meet a famous person from history, what person would you like to meet? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

I would like to meet Petr the Great if I was able to travel back in time. He interests me since Petr turned Russia into one of the most powerful countries of that time.

To begin with, Petr the first is a legendary person in Russian history. He added a lot of new territories, created the Russian fleet, and highly impacted Russian society. Besides that, one of his biggest achievements is turning Tsardom of Russia into an empire that became a major Power in Europe by winning the northern war. However, histories find his influence on Russia controversial, since he liked everything foreign and conduct reforms by force. Despite this, everyone cannot help but admire him, as I do. His personality attracts me, for he changed everything in my country, so even a glimpse on him would cost a lot for me.

In addition, Peter was very different from previous Tsars of Russia. This distinction can be observed in his relation to labor. He could not stand slothfulness and was probably the only imperator of Russia, who take a part in hard physical work; for instance, constructed (builded) ships on a shipyard with peasants. He did it in order to be aware of everything in the country and to make profit to the state. Moreover, he had never stopped learning that makes him a very educated person. Many his contemporaries point out Petr was a very intelligent person. As a result, a discussion with him would be really exciting not only since all of his knowledge and skills but also, for the wonderful insight into the history of first half eighteen century that he would provide us. In my point of this period of Russian history is very exciting, for all metamorphosed that happened with Tsardom of Russia. Wars and social changes are examples of them.

To summarize, Petr the Great was a really outstanding person that engage my interest. From a discussion with him, I would be able to learn more about events of the first part of eighteen century, that I would know about.