If you could travel back in time to meet a famous person from history, what person would you like to meet? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

I would prefer to meet Peter the Great If I were able to move in time. I feel this way for his achievements as a leader coupled with his personality.

To begin with, Peter is a legendary figure in Russian history. His achievements are countless, and one of them is opening Russia to Europe. By this I mean, that communication between Russia and Europa appeared at the time of his leadership. For instance, Peter invited researches from Europe into Russia, that allowed developing science and education in Russia. Moreover, he paid a lot of attention to social changes. First, Peter the Great adopted French tradition to organize dances instead of feasts. Second, beards and traditional costumes were prohibited in order to make Russian aristocracy looked like the Europeans. Last but not least, Peter turned Tsardom of Russia in an empire that became one a major power in Europe of his time. He did it by winning the Great Northen War with Carl XII of Sweden. Besides all of the positive influence on Russia, historians find his figure controversial, for he did make a preference to foreign traditions too much and ruled out the local customs.

What is more, it is significant to point out that Petr had exclusive personal traits that attract me. His diversity from previous Tsar of Russia was visible and reflected in his attitude to physical work. He did not find it unrespectable for aristocracy, and, probably, Peter was the only leader of Russia who constructed ships with ordinary people on a shipyard. So he did any work despite its kind. In addition, Peter had never stopped learning that made him a very educated person. The way how he was learning is also interesting. For example, to get a job on European shipyards, he pretended an ordinary worker. To get a high education, he attended classes of European universities as a son a Russian aristocrat, not as a King of Russia. As a result, his contemporaries noticed that Peter was intelligent and able to discuss any theme.

To summarize, Personality characteristics of Peter the Great and his significant impact on Tsardom of Russia makes me thinks that his figure is the best to meet if I were able to travel in the past.