If you have the opportunity to do something for a good cause, which of the following would you choose?

1. Distributing meals to needy people

2. Helping build a playground for children

3. Visiting people in hospitals

As human beings, we must help each other whenever possible to create a better society. if I were given a choice to do a philanthropic activity, I would definitely opt for a position in a group that helps build a playground for young children. The most legitimate reasons for my preference are elaborated in the ensuing paragraphs[S1] .

To begin with, making a decent playground for children provides them with an opportunity to develop and grow. By playing with their peers, children learn the most essential social skills; they learn how to interact with other children, communicate effectively, make friends and play in groups. Moreover, play improves children's intellectual abilities. When they devise games or play with each other, they need to constantly use their mind and power of creativity. The results of a scientific study in Psychology Today has indicated that the children who play outside with their peers frequently develop a higher IQ and become more intelligent. Therefore, by contributing to making a playground for small children, I will be able to help them to develop not only socially but also mentally.

Furthermore, contributing in[S2] the construction of a playground will also be useful for the people who are involved in the process themselves. Those who work on such projects will be endowed with an opportunity to utilize their knowledge and implement their skills in practice. Personally, as an architecture student, I will be able to practice the lessons that I have learned in university in a real-life situation if I participate in the construction of a playground. To be more specific, I will be able to sketch the outline of the area, do a computer simulation with software for the design and determine the position of machines and vegetation. this hands-on work will be an invaluable experience that not only teaches me challenges me to implement my knowledge but also boosts my confidence in my own abilities.

All in all, taking the aforementioned arguments into account, if I were given the choice for an altruistic activity, I would choose to help build a playground for small children. this is because I will be able to provide an opportunity for children to develop. In addition, this practical experience can be highly useful for me as an architecture student