If you were offered two jobs, one has average paid, and you work normal hours (40 hours a

week), the other one has much higher salary, but you need to work long hours. Which one

would you choose?

It is an undeniable fact that career and income play pivotal roles in people’s lives since they spend one-third of their lives working. In this regard, some people prefer to have high-paid jobs which require long hours of working. On the other hand, other people are of the opinion that having a medium-paid occupation with normal hours of working is more favorable. I, personally, concur with the second group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, given the normal work hours, people will have less anxiety and stress, which is beneficial for their mental health. When people work for a reasonable amount of time during the week, they are provided with this golden opportunity to spend more time with their family and friends. Spending delightful hours with family and friends significantly soothes people’s minds. Moreover, they own more spare time to go on a vacation, and it is thoroughly advantageous for them to alleviate their tension and stress. On the other hand, working for long hours has adverse effects on people’s mental health since it augments their stress level. It is clear that earning higher salary cannot compensate for the heavy burden caused by cumbersome workloads. Therefore, although the revenue might be average, working for normal hours is more beneficial than working for long hours because it helps to maintain mental health.

The other reason worth mentioning is that, people are more likely to be prosperous in their profession if they work for normal hours. This is due to the fact people have more free time to spend on learning various skills related to their jobs. They are able to gain valuable knowledge about numerous topics that will be handy in the future for them either in their profession or personal business, which can result in higher income. My father’s experience is a compelling example of this. Working for reasonable hours at the office, my father had a noticeable amount of free time to learn about management and financial skills, and how to establish his own business. After a year, thanks to his normal work hours at his former office, he was utterly knowledgeable regarding how to start a business. As a result, he commenced his new profession, and ever since, he has attained more money than he used to. Indeed, working for normal hours, regardless of average salary, provided him this opportunity to start his own business and gain even more revenue. Had he worked for long hours, he would not be prosperous today.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that having a medium-paid job with normal work hours is more beneficial than having a high-paid career with more working hour. Not only are people able to unwind their stress, but they also have more time to learn valuable lessons that help them to earn more money and have higher salaries.