If your friend want to reduce living expenses, what would you suggest?

-Find a roommate to share the rent.

-Refrain from purchasing new versions of smartphones.

-Buy less expensive food and cooking at home.

While the advances in society and economics make our lives easier, they have also brought the prices to spark and added to our living costs. People have to cut down part of their living costs in terms of food, housing, electronic devices, etc. From my standpoint, sharing the rent with a roommate is the most effective way to reduce one’s living expenses.

First of all, rent is, for most people, the most significant part of their living expenses. Unlike chasing the latest version of smartphones, paying for rents is indispensable since all people need a place to live. But, at the same time, rents make up almost half of the total expenses of a person. Especially in large cities like New York and Chicago, rents are always so high that many people cannot afford them. If they can find a roommate to share the rent, it would reduce 1/4 of the total expense on their side, which is a huge amount money that can be used in many other areas. Take me as an example. I used to live out of my hometown in Shanghai for three months for my internship, and the rent over there is exceptionally high, which is hardly affordable for a student like me. So I found a friend of mine working in the same company like me to share the apartment I rented. After that, my burden to pay the rent is significantly reduced, and I was able to use the saved money to get a brand new phone I had been longing for.

Additionally, sharing the rent with a roommate also means sharing things in other areas of their lives, such as food, transportation, etc. Once a person gets along with their roommate, they can help each other in many aspects of their lives, which can further reduce their living costs. For example, they can cook meals together, instead of ordering delivery as a perfect to save extra costs. For me and my friend in Shanghai, he used to share a ride with me since he had a driver's license and owned a car. In turn, I offered to make dinners as I am good at cooking. In this way, it was estimated that at least 5000 money are saved for both of us by the mutual assistance between me and my roommate.

In a nutshell, it would be best to find a roommate to share the rent for one to cut their living expenses, because rents always make up the most proportion of one’s expenses and living with others can reduce costs in other areas of one’s life.