Which ONE of the following abilities do you think is most important for a teacher of high school students (ages 15 - 18) to have? -The ability to give good advice to students about planning for their future -The ability to recognize which students in a class need the most help and to provide that help -The ability to encourage students to learn on their own outside of the classroom Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A high school is a place where students gain their knowledge and prepare themselves ready for their future careers. It is also a place of an important transition for students, where some students go on to receive high education and others start their own businesses or working. Under both circumstances, it is significant for high school students to acquire the essential skills of learning on their own before they graduate. Thus, I believe, as a professional high school teacher, they should always put the first priority to educate and encourage students to learn outside the classroom.

First of all, if a high school graduate chooses to go to college, it is self-evident that they need to know how to teach themselves in order to survive at college. In contrast to high school, where one can always receive help from their teachers, university students usually teach themselves more than what they learn from professors. This is because the lecture time is greatly reduced in the university, and professors spend less time answering a student's questions since they have other crucial jobs to do, for example, researching. It means that the professors in the universities cannot concentrate on one particular student as high school teachers do. Thus, college students should be able to actively seek for helps in their studies. To prepare them ready for this, it is the responsibility of high school teachers to inspire students to find out answers on their own, offering them opportunities for their self-growth, rather than constantly rendering helps to them.

Additionally, for high school graduates who will seek a job and begin a business, high school teachers should also usher them by encouraging their own motivations towards learning. Students who just step into the society could face numerous risks considering their innocence of the society. Once they fall into trouble, if they fail to save themselves, the consequence could be huge, and even, unimaginable. Hence, high school teachers shoulder the responsibility of taking care of those innocent children, who are supposed to guide them gradually moving from school to the society and prepare them for tackling the challenges that they will be exposed to.

To sum up, high school teachers should focus the most on how to encourage students to learn outside the classroom, because high school graduates will either step into society or go to colleges, both of which demand self-learning skills.