If your friend wants to reduce living expenses, what would you suggest?

1. Find a roommate that can share the rent and housing costs;

2. Buy new technology products such as smartphones less frequently;

3. Shop for less expensive food and cook at home.

There are numerous methods we can reduce our living expenditures. Personally, I believe that choosing less expensive food and cooking at home might be an exceptional way to save money. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

To begin with, purchasing food is indispensable for our daily lives, choosing cheaper food every day can help us save significant amounts of money. To illustrate, if we save a few pennies by buying cheaper ingredients every single day, in the long term, the amount of money we save would be amazing. My brother tried this method when he was a university student. He saved money because he wanted to buy a new iPad, so he insisted on buying inexpensive food and cooking all by himself. After a year, he finally got enough money to buy his iPad.

Furthermore, while cooking meals by ourselves, we can prepare the food we like. To be more specific, we can choose our favorite sauces or flavors and add them into our meals. With the delicious meals we make, we can enjoy the food and feel senses of accomplishment. My experience is a compelling example of this. Once I took a trip to the United States, I prepared dinner by myself because the food of the nearby restaurants was so expensive. I purchased my favorite ingredients in the supermarket and cooked in my hotel. Although I had struggled during cooking, I eventually made a table of colorful vegetables and juicy meat. I really enjoyed the delicious dinner that I made by myself.

Finally, we can prepare healthy food at home and maintain great health. Restaurants usually cook their dishes by frying food and adding a lot of unhealthy chemical flavors because they want their dishes to be tasty. However, it may bring negative effects on our bodies. On the other hand, if we cook at home, we can control the food we add and cook in healthy ways. Additionally, we can eliminate potentially harmful ingredients in our dishes. By doing this, we can keep our body healthy.

To sum up, I strongly maintain that to save money, it’s an excellent idea to purchase inexpensive food and cook by ourselves. This is because we can save money in the long term, prepare delicious meals, and be more healthy.