Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.•Wait until the class or meeting

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and complicated world where we live, human beings have been struggling to gain accurate and correct information in various occasions whether in a classroom or in a meeting and a lecture. Every individual has devised a way to respond to the incorrect information being spurred on them. While some people believe that they have to correct the information as immediately as possible, others stand at the other side of the continuum, presuming that they should correct the mistake and give the right information only when the meeting and the class is finished and no one is present in the area to witness this situation. There are still a third group who stands in between, and prefer to be neutral and have no reflection toward the incorrect information. I prefer to interrupt the teacher or the leader and correct them in the moment. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, inaccurate and wrong information to a group of people, whether in a class or in a meeting, will have an adverse effect on the people's understanding and knowledge. To be specific, when someone is making a mistake, it is highly effective to be warned about the mistake. Inaccurate information works as a chain, the first wrong information being given to people will lead to a chain of other misunderstanding. As a result, it is better to be prevented as soon as it is being made. An example can drive this notion home. I have recently participated in an education lecture in the University of Birmingham. Education, being my field of study, is something that i have a good command of. However, the lecturer was imparting incorrect knowledge about the way young children acquire their second or foreign language. As soon as he explained the idea, I raised my hand, explaining the incorrect point he was making. Surprisingly, he appreciated what I did and continued his lecture on a right track and correct information. If it was not for my warning and interruption, the whole audience would have received incorrect information.

Furthermore, interrupting and making the person aware of the incorrect information she or he is making will have a positive effect not only on the person him or herself but also on the rest of the audience. To put it in other word, when a matter of speculation or a question is posed within a group or inside a class, the rate of awareness would increase to a high degree. Under such a circumstance, the retrieval of the materials and information will also increase. As an illustration, I once participated in a linguistic class. The teacher was overwhelmed defining the concepts of syntax, phonology and morphology. However, he messed up some points and started giving incorrect information. From among the audience, one of the students, who was a proficient linguistic students, reminded the teacher that the concept of morphology relates to the study of forms not phonetics. Having revised the information he previously told, this interruption of the students was indeed beneficial for me and the rest of the class, because it has raised our awareness about the concept. From that time onward, I never make a mistake about the concept of morphology. It is apparent that interrupting teachers and asking him or her to redefine or correct the information can be effective for almost all of the audience.

In conclusion, taking the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I do believe that interrupting and correcting the mistakes immediately is a better choice. Not only will this strategy prevent the flow of wrong information, but it also enhance and boost the rate of awareness both in the person and the rest of audience.