Imagine that you are a student at a university where there are long breaks between

semesters. The university requires all students to do one of the following for one month

during the break.

- Students must take a course which has no direct connection to their major (for

example, students majoring in engineering take a course in fine arts or social sciences)

Students must volunteer to work on a project in their university’s city or hometown to

improve some aspect of life in the city or hometown. For example, a student can work

with primary school children who need help with their homework.

During recent decades, one of the most significant and problematic issues for students have been spending summer break. A plethora of people contend that university students should have a plan for their spare time in order to become prosperous in the future. If I have to select an activity to do during the break, I would choose taking a course in spite of having no relation to my major since I think it provides me more advantages. My reasons are manifold, among which the most conspicuous ones are substantiated in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, the first exquisite point to be mentioned is the influences of attending a class in increasing our information and knowledge in a novel field. In other words, taking some courses, even ones having no connection with their field of study, they are able to gain their knowledge in an area which probably have not the chance to get familiar with. Briefly, the more courses a person attends, the more knowledge he possesses. For instance, it is my childhood dream to learn some pieces of information about fine art. For this reason, such extra class play a pivotal role in giving me the opportunity to reach my dream.

Beyond a shadow of a doubt, one of the most controversial matters in the high rate of unemployment, especially for graduated students. A large proportion of student cannot find job related to their major. Therefore, it is plausible that participating in more courses enhances one's chance to find a job in the future. According to a noteworthy statistics, conducted on young people in the range of twenty to thirty years old, reported one month ago, 7 out of 10 jobless people are those individuals who have a university degree. The results indicate that most jobless people are educated, on the grounds that they do not have any other skills and knowledge to be prepared for existing positions.

Finally, it is worth mentioning that the other alternative, work in a project in university or hometown, cannot bring pupils a noticeable advantage. Although at first blush, it seems that being volunteer for improving other people's life is invaluable, I believe that this task can be done by other persons and communities in the society. For example, tutoring children who have difficulties in learning is usually teachers' responsibility, or some charities who make contribution in these matters. Therefore, student should take advantage from their free time like the break.

To sum up, considering the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that taking a class which is not related to major seems more beneficial. Not only does it heighten students' information, but it also augments their chance to find and grasp a job. Furthermore, working in society for helping other people can be performed by others having required ability.