To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Throughout the history universities has played a prominent role in all societies. Also, the matter of quality of education is concern of the governments in which they have applied many strategies to reach a sophisticated and desirable level. Increasing the salaries of professors is one of factors which have raised controversial debate among educational activities. Some people may hold the view that universities should focus on other factors which have greater influence on education than salaries of professors. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that professors should be paid more to increase their efficiency. From my vantage point, I concur with the latter group that professor's salaries are of great importance in quality of education. In the following paragraphs, I elaborate on my position through three reasons among countless ones.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that increasing the salary of a professor would makes him more satisfied with his/her job. In fact, professors should not be worry about their income in order to dedicate themselves to their job. Considering a professor who has difficulties in his financial issues, she will not be able to concentrate on her job. As a result, her classes would be a mass; she would not follow the class as she must and miss the homogeneity of teaching process. On the other hand, she cannot focus on her research, and consequently her research efficacy would be reduced. All the consequences of monetary problems would affect her reputation.

The second reason which deserves some words here is that by increasing salaries for university professors encourage them to have only one job and refute any other offers as a second job. On the other words, professors who gain more money are more willingness to work since they feel more responsibility toward their oath as a teacher. The amount of money they get reminds them that they are paid for a specific reason which are teaching and researching. So they have to do their best in response of the money they get from government.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. The noteworthy refreshingly intelligible statistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country among the PhD. students, show that they would be more courage to be a professor if they can earn reasonable salary. The aim of the study was to investigate the tendency of students to be a university professor through distribution of a questioner. This research was done in a group of 150 graduated and candidate PhD students in three high rank universities in Tehran, Iran. The results have shown that the amount of salary has a noticeable weight among other factors.

To wrap it up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons one soon realize that in order to advance educational quality in terms of research and teaching, professors who are the core of this process should be paid more. More they satisfy with their job, more the output of their work.